Pregnancy

Best Prenatal Vitamins: How to Choose, With 11 Labels Checked

Best prenatal vitamins: how to choose by folic acid, iodine, iron, and DHA, with Supplement Facts from 11 popular prenatals checked in October 2026.

Updated October 2, 202613 min readBased on 26 sources incl. CDC, NIH ODS, USPSTF

How we researched this: we have not personally tested these products. This overview is based on each company's published information and independent sources, checked on October 2, 2026. Prices and features change, so confirm on the official site. Our standards.

Pregnant woman at a wooden kitchen table opening a pill organizer beside a glass of water
Photo: SHVETS production on Pexels
On this page
  1. How to choose a prenatal vitamin: the criteria
  2. How to read the folate line on a Supplement Facts panel
  3. Comparison table: 11 prenatal vitamin labels side by side
  4. Option group 1: contains at least 400 mcg of folic acid
  5. Option group 2: methylfolate only (discuss with your clinician)
  6. Option group 3: budget options
  7. Option group 4: gummy prenatals and their tradeoffs
  8. Mistakes to avoid when picking a prenatal
  9. Questions to ask your clinician or pharmacist
  10. Frequently asked questions
  11. Sources
Key takeaways
  • Start with folic acid: CDC recommends 400 mcg of folic acid daily, and ACOG advises a prenatal vitamin with at least 400 mcg of folic acid, starting at least one month before pregnancy 12.
  • Read the number in parentheses. A label showing 1,330 mcg DFE (800 mcg folic acid) contains 800 mcg of folic acid; a label listing only methylfolate contains no folic acid 4.
  • Of the 11 prenatals we checked, six list folic acid and five list only methylfolate (one also adds folinic acid). Two folic acid gummies list 360 mcg, below the 400 mcg benchmark 1415.
  • Also check iodine (the American Thyroid Association recommends a supplement with 150 mcg) and iron (27 mg a day is the pregnancy need) 52.
  • Take one prenatal, not two. Doubling up can push vitamin A too high; if you need more of something, your clinician will add it separately 62.

The best prenatal vitamin is one that contains at least 400 mcg of folic acid, that you can take every day, and that fits the advice of your clinician. CDC recommends 400 mcg of folic acid daily for everyone who could become pregnant, and ACOG advises a prenatal vitamin with at least 400 mcg of folic acid, starting at least one month before pregnancy.12

We have not tested or used any of these products. Instead, we set selection criteria from public health guidance, then read the Supplement Facts on each brand's own website for 11 widely sold prenatals in October 2026. Below you will find the criteria, a side-by-side table of label facts, and grouped options with honest tradeoffs. We checked several other popular brands too, but left them out because we could not read their full label on the official site.

How to choose a prenatal vitamin: the criteria

These criteria come from CDC, USPSTF, ACOG, and NIH, not from brand marketing. They are listed in order of importance.

Criterion What to look for on the label Why
1. Folic acid The words "folic acid" and at least 400 mcg in parentheses CDC: 400 mcg daily; ACOG: prenatal with at least 400 mcg folic acid 12
2. Not too much Folic acid of 400 to 800 mcg is the USPSTF supplement range Adult upper limit is 1,000 mcg folic acid from supplements and fortified foods 34
3. Iodine Around 150 mcg of iodine American Thyroid Association recommends a supplement with 150 mcg; only about half of U.S. prenatals contain iodine 5
4. Iron Iron listed (pregnancy need is 27 mg a day) ACOG: you can get 27 mg in most prenatal vitamins 2
5. One serving only A product you can take as directed, without doubling Extra doses can push vitamin A too high 26
6. Extras DHA and choline, if you want them in one product ACOG: choline is not found in most prenatals; omega-3s may matter for fetal brain development 2

How to read the folate line on a Supplement Facts panel

U.S. labels list total folate in mcg DFE (Dietary Folate Equivalents). When folic acid is added, the label shows the folic acid amount in parentheses.4 So "1,330 mcg DFE (800 mcg folic acid)" means the product contains 800 mcg of folic acid. The DFE number is bigger because folic acid is absorbed better than food folate.4

When a product uses methylfolate (also called 5-MTHF or L-methylfolate), there is no folic acid in parentheses. Formal DFE conversion factors have not been set for supplemental 5-MTHF, and FDA lets manufacturers use a factor up to 1.7.4 That means a big DFE number on a methylfolate label is not directly comparable to a folic acid label. Compare the form and the parenthetical amount, not the headline number.4 Our folate DFE calculator converts folic acid to DFE if you want to check the math.

Comparison table: 11 prenatal vitamin labels side by side

All values come from the Supplement Facts on each brand's website or the label PDF linked from it, checked on October 2, 2026. "Not listed" means the nutrient did not appear in the label text. Formulas change, so check the bottle you buy.

Product Folate as labeled Folic acid Iodine Iron DHA Choline Vitamin A as labeled Daily serving
Nature Made Prenatal Multi + DHA softgels 10 1,330 mcg DFE 800 mcg 150 mcg 27 mg Yes (260 mg omega-3s) Not listed 770 mcg (form not stated) 1 softgel
Nature Made Prenatal Multi tablets 11 1,330 mcg DFE 800 mcg 150 mcg 27 mg No Not listed 770 mcg (form not stated) 1 tablet
One A Day Women's Prenatal 1 softgels 12 1,330 mcg DFE 800 mcg 150 mcg 27 mg 200 mg Not listed 650 mcg (50% beta-carotene) 1 softgel
One A Day Prenatal Multi Gummy 13 1,330 mcg DFE 800 mcg 150 mcg 0 mg 50 mg Not listed 650 mcg (vitamin A acetate in ingredients) 2 gummies
Nature Made Prenatal gummies 14 600 mcg DFE 360 mcg 150 mcg Not listed Yes (263 mg fish oil) 55 mg 650 mcg (form not stated) 2 gummies
Nature's Bounty Essential Prenatal Gummies 15 600 mcg DFE 360 mcg 290 mcg Not listed 43 mg 11 mg 1,300 mcg (retinyl palmitate) 2 gummies
Thorne Basic Prenatal 16 1.7 mg DFE (L-5-MTHF) None 150 mcg 45 mg No 110 mg 450 mcg beta-carotene + 600 mcg palmitate 3 capsules
Ritual Essential Prenatal 17 1,000 mcg DFE (6S-5-MTHF) None 150 mcg 18 mg 350 mg 55 mg Not listed 2 capsules
Needed Prenatal Multi 18 920 mcg DFE (L-5-MTHF) None 150 mcg Not listed No 200 mg 1,500 mcg RAE (half beta-carotene, half retinyl palmitate) 3 capsules
FullWell Women's Prenatal 19 1,360 mcg DFE (L-5-MTHF and calcium folinate) None 250 mcg None (iron-free) None (DHA-free) 300 mg 1,500 mcg (retinyl palmitate and beta-carotene) 8 capsules
Perelel 1st Trimester Pack 20 1,525 mcg DFE (L-5-MTHF, two components) None 150 mcg 16 mg 250 mg 120 mg 500 mcg RAE (beta-carotene) 1 daily packet

Three patterns stand out. Every product with folic acid lists either 800 mcg or 360 mcg. All five of the higher-priced brands we checked (Thorne, Ritual, Needed, FullWell, and Perelel) use methylfolate and no folic acid. And none of the gummies list iron, which matches ACOG's note that gummies cannot hold the same amount of iron as regular prenatals.2

Option group 1: contains at least 400 mcg of folic acid

These four products meet the core criterion directly: the label shows folic acid, and the amount is within the USPSTF 400 to 800 mcg range.3 All four also list 150 mcg of iodine.10111213

Nature Made Prenatal Multi + DHA softgels

One softgel a day with a meal. The label lists 1,330 mcg DFE (800 mcg folic acid), 150 mcg iodine, 27 mg iron, and 260 mg of omega-3 fatty acids.10 It is listed from $26.99 on the brand site as of October 2026.10 It suits people who want folic acid, iron, iodine, and DHA in a single daily pill. Choline is not listed, so you would rely on food for it.

One A Day Women's Prenatal 1 softgels

One softgel a day with food. The label PDF linked from the product page lists 1,330 mcg DFE (800 mcg folic acid), 150 mcg iodine, 27 mg iron, and 200 mg DHA, with vitamin A at 650 mcg, half as beta-carotene.12 The brand page does not show a price; it is sold through retailers. This is a close match to the Nature Made softgel on paper, with a stated DHA amount.

Nature Made Prenatal Multi tablets (no DHA)

One tablet a day. Same folate, iodine, and iron as the softgel (800 mcg folic acid, 150 mcg iodine, 27 mg iron) but no DHA.11 Prices on the brand site start at $18.99 depending on bottle size.11 A reasonable pick if you eat fish regularly or plan to add DHA separately.

One A Day Prenatal Multi Gummy

Two gummies a day. The label lists 1,330 mcg DFE (800 mcg folic acid), 150 mcg iodine, 50 mg DHA, and 0 mg iron, with 2 g of added sugars.13 The brand page states plainly that it does not contain iron.21 Of the gummies we checked, this is the only one that reaches 400 mcg of folic acid.

Option group 2: methylfolate only (discuss with your clinician)

Thorne, Ritual, Needed, FullWell, and Perelel all use methylfolate (5-MTHF) instead of folic acid.1617181920 FullWell also adds calcium folinate, which is a form of folinic acid, a different reduced folate.1922 These are legitimate folate forms, and they contribute to folate nutrition.4

The issue is narrow but important. CDC's recommendation for preventing neural tube defects is specifically 400 mcg of folic acid daily, because folic acid is the only form directly shown in studies to prevent NTDs.71 ACOG also tells patients to check that the ingredients list includes folic acid.2 If a product lists only methylfolate, ask an obstetric clinician or pharmacist whether it satisfies your plan.23

People often choose methylfolate because of an MTHFR result. CDC says people with common MTHFR variants can process all forms of folate, including folic acid, and should not avoid folic acid on that basis.23 See folic acid and MTHFR and methylfolate vs folic acid for the full picture.

Ritual Essential Prenatal

Two capsules a day. The label lists 1,000 mcg DFE of folate as 6S-5-methyltetrahydrofolate, 150 mcg iodine, 18 mg iron, 350 mg DHA, and 55 mg choline; no vitamin A is listed.17 It was listed at $44.32 on the product page when we checked.17 Note that 18 mg of iron is less than the 27 mg daily pregnancy need, so your diet or clinician would need to cover the rest.2

Thorne Basic Prenatal

Three capsules a day. The label lists 1.7 mg DFE of folate as L-5-methyltetrahydrofolate, 150 mcg iodine, 45 mg iron, 110 mg choline, and no DHA.16 It is listed at $37 for 90 capsules (a 30-day supply).16 The iron amount is higher than most prenatals here; ask your clinician whether that suits your blood counts.

Needed, FullWell, and Perelel

  • Needed Prenatal Multi: 3 capsules a day; 920 mcg DFE as L-5-MTHF, 150 mcg iodine, 200 mg choline, no iron or DHA listed; $42.99 for a 30-day supply.18
  • FullWell Women's Prenatal: 8 capsules a day; 1,360 mcg DFE as L-5-MTHF and calcium folinate, 250 mcg iodine, 300 mg choline; the brand says the formula is intentionally iron-free and DHA-free; regular price $49.95.19
  • Perelel 1st Trimester Pack: daily packets; 1,525 mcg DFE as L-5-MTHF across two components, 150 mcg iodine, 16 mg iron, 250 mg DHA, 120 mg choline; listed at $58.77.20

These three list more choline than most products in the table, which is relevant because ACOG notes choline is not found in most prenatal vitamins and pregnancy needs 450 mg a day.2 More detail is on our prenatal vitamins with methylfolate page.

Option group 3: budget options

Price per day matters if you are taking a prenatal for months before pregnancy, through pregnancy, and while breastfeeding. Based on prices listed on brand sites in October 2026 (confirm before buying):

Product Listed price Supply Folic acid
Nature Made Prenatal Multi tablets From $18.99 (varies by bottle) 1 a day 800 mcg 11
Nature Made Prenatal Multi + DHA softgels From $26.99 1 a day 800 mcg 10
Nature Made Prenatal gummies $20.59 2 a day 360 mcg 14
Thorne Basic Prenatal $37 for 90 capsules 30 days None (methylfolate) 16

One A Day and Nature's Bounty do not list prices on their brand pages, but both are widely sold at pharmacies and big-box stores.2115 Store-brand prenatals can also be inexpensive; we could not read a full label on a store-brand site, so none are in our table. Apply the same test to any store brand: folic acid in parentheses, at least 400 mcg, plus iodine and iron.

Option group 4: gummy prenatals and their tradeoffs

Gummies help some people who struggle to swallow pills or who have nausea. The tradeoffs we found on the labels:

  • No iron in any gummy we checked. ACOG explains that gummy vitamins cannot hold the same amount of iron as regular prenatals.2 If you choose one, ask whether you need a separate iron supplement, especially since your blood should be tested for anemia during pregnancy.2
  • Folic acid varies. The One A Day gummy lists 800 mcg of folic acid; the Nature Made and Nature's Bounty gummies list 360 mcg, which is below the ACOG "at least 400 mcg" benchmark on its own.1314152 CDC counts folic acid from fortified foods toward the 400 mcg, but a prenatal that reaches 400 mcg by itself is simpler.1
  • Added sugar. The One A Day gummy lists 2 g of added sugars per serving and the Nature's Bounty gummy lists 3 g.1315
  • Lower DHA. Gummy DHA amounts are small (43 to 50 mg where stated) compared with 200 to 350 mg in some capsules and softgels.13151217
  • Preformed vitamin A. Nature's Bounty lists 1,300 mcg of vitamin A as retinyl palmitate.15 That is fine at one serving, but it is another reason never to double up.2

Mistakes to avoid when picking a prenatal

  • Stacking two prenatals. ACOG warns against taking more than one serving, because ingredients such as vitamin A can cause birth defects at double or triple doses.2 If you need extra folic acid for a higher-risk pregnancy, it should come as a separate prescription, not extra prenatals.6
  • Self-prescribing high-dose folic acid. The 4 mg (4,000 mcg) dose is for people who have had an NTD-affected pregnancy and is set with a clinician.7 See how much folic acid for pregnancy.
  • Judging by the front label. "Prenatal," "methylated," or "food-based" does not tell you whether the product meets CDC's folic acid recommendation. The Supplement Facts panel does.124
  • Waiting for a positive test. Folic acid works best when started at least one month before conception.3 If you are already pregnant and have not started, start now rather than conclude it is too late.9 Our guide to folic acid before pregnancy covers timing.
  • Assuming supplements are pre-approved. FDA does not approve dietary supplements for safety and effectiveness before they are sold; companies are responsible for that.25 Third-party certifications on a label are company claims you can check with the certifier.

Questions to ask your clinician or pharmacist

  1. Does this prenatal give me enough folic acid for my situation, or do I need a higher prescribed dose?6
  2. Is the iron amount right for me, or should I take iron separately?2
  3. Does the iodine amount meet the 150 mcg supplement recommendation?5
  4. Should I add a separate DHA or choline supplement, or can I cover those with food?2
  5. Could any ingredient interact with my medicines?26

For a broader look at preconception supplements beyond the prenatal itself, see fertility supplements for women, which grades the evidence ingredient by ingredient.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best prenatal vitamin?

There is no single best prenatal for everyone. For neural tube defect prevention, look for at least 400 mcg of folic acid on the Supplement Facts panel, then check iodine, iron, and whether you want DHA in the same product 21. The right pick also depends on your diet, your clinician's advice, and what you will actually take every day.

What are the best prenatal vitamins with folic acid?

Look for the words folic acid and an amount of at least 400 mcg in parentheses next to the DFE number 42. Among the labels we checked, Nature Made Prenatal Multi + DHA, Nature Made Prenatal Multi tablets, One A Day Women's Prenatal 1, and One A Day Prenatal Multi Gummy each list 800 mcg of folic acid 10111213. That is within the USPSTF supplement range of 400 to 800 mcg 3.

What about the best prenatal vitamins with folate (methylfolate)?

Several premium prenatals use methylfolate (5-MTHF) instead of folic acid. CDC says folic acid is the only form of folate shown to help prevent neural tube defects, so if a product lists only methylfolate, ask your obstetric clinician or pharmacist whether it fits your plan 723. Our page on prenatal vitamins with methylfolate covers this in detail.

Are gummy prenatal vitamins as good as pills?

Gummies can be easier to take, but ACOG notes they cannot hold the same amount of iron as regular prenatal vitamins 2. All three gummies we checked list no iron, and two list 360 mcg of folic acid rather than 400 mcg 141315. If you choose a gummy, ask your clinician whether you need separate iron.

Is 800 mcg of folic acid in a prenatal too much?

For average-risk pregnancy, USPSTF recommends a daily supplement with 400 to 800 mcg of folic acid, so 800 mcg is within that range 3. The adult upper limit is 1,000 mcg a day of folic acid from supplements and fortified foods combined 4. Taking more than recommended is not known to give better protection for average-risk people 23.

Can I take two prenatal vitamins a day?

Take one serving of your prenatal each day. ACOG warns that some ingredients, such as vitamin A, can cause birth defects if you double or triple the dose 2. If you need extra folic acid or iron, your clinician can prescribe it as a separate supplement 6.

Sources

  1. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). About Folic Acid.
  2. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). Healthy Eating During Pregnancy.
  3. U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF). Folic Acid Supplementation to Prevent Neural Tube Defects: Recommendation.
  4. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Folate - Health Professional Fact Sheet.
  5. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Iodine: Fact Sheet for Consumers.
  6. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). Prepregnancy Counseling.
  7. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Folic Acid: Facts for Clinicians.
  8. U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF). Folic Acid Supplementation to Prevent Neural Tube Defects: Final Recommendation Statement.
  9. NHS (UK National Health Service). Common questions about folic acid.
  10. Nature Made. Prenatal Multi Folic Acid + DHA Softgels (product page and Supplement Facts).
  11. Nature Made. Prenatal Multi Tablets (product page and Supplement Facts).
  12. Bayer (One A Day). One A Day Women's Prenatal 1: Supplement Facts (PDF linked from the product page).
  13. Bayer (One A Day). One A Day Women's Prenatal Gummies with DHA: Supplement Facts (PDF linked from the product page).
  14. Nature Made. Prenatal Multi Folic Acid + DHA + Choline Gummies (product page and Supplement Facts).
  15. Nature's Bounty. Essential Prenatal Gummies (product page and Supplement Facts).
  16. Thorne. Basic Prenatal (product page and Supplement Facts).
  17. Ritual. Essential Prenatal Multivitamin (product page and Supplement Facts).
  18. Needed. Prenatal Multivitamin (product page and Supplement Facts).
  19. FullWell. Women's Prenatal Multivitamin (product page and Supplement Facts).
  20. Perelel. 1st Trimester Prenatal Pack (product page and Supplement Facts).
  21. Bayer (One A Day). One A Day Prenatal Multi Gummy (product page).
  22. MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Leucovorin Injection: Drug Information.
  23. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). MTHFR Gene Variant and Folic Acid Facts.
  24. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Folic Acid: Sources and Recommended Intake.
  25. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). FDA 101: Dietary Supplements.
  26. MedlinePlus Magazine, NIH. Did You Know? Supplements and Medications Can Interact in Unexpected Ways.

This article is for general education and is not medical advice. Doses and needs differ from person to person, so talk with your clinician or pharmacist about your situation. Read our editorial policy and medical disclaimer.